Taking Time For You

Hi Busy Bees,

The Your Time to Get Fit article, that Laura sent out this week, really got me thinking about how many of us take any time for ourselves. So, Busy Bees, what do you do to nourish yourself?

Maybe you are like me and do not currently do anything at all. I used to be a runner and will be a runner again, hopefully a little after these two babies in my belly come out into the world. However, I’m not doing that now and is going for a run 3 times a week even enough time to keep me balanced and in my happy place so that I can be productive and present for all of the people in my life? Probably not.

So, what do I need to do to take care of myself? What do you need? I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately because life has seemed hectic and like I’m rushing from one to-do to the next. A parent recently reminded me that we don’t get any of these days back. It’s true, my son will never be 3 again and I want to enjoy life’s moments.

To me, enjoying life’s moments means being present and choosing to have gratitude. We can’t be grateful for everything, but we can strive to be grateful in every moment. This is a lot easier for me when I’ve taken time for myself and started my day on the right foot. It’s about finding balance in a busy life.

So, the big questions comes back to: How do we find balance? What do we each need in order to live life making healthy choices that nourish ourselves physically, mentally & spiritual? In order to do that, we need to make the time to center ourselves, breathe and reflect. Maybe it’s 10 min of exercise for you or 10 min of meditation. Whatever it is, it should be routine and intentional. Everyone around you will reap the benefits of the time that you choose to take for yourself – so don’t feel guilty!

Here are some ideas to get us thinking:

What do you currently do or what would you like to do for YOU time? or what do you do to enjoy the little moments in life?

 

Leave a Reply

